Harvard Classics Volume 1 - Benjamin Franklin, William Penn & John Woolman

Harvard Classics Volume 1

By Benjamin Franklin, William Penn & John Woolman

  • Release Date: 2012-04-03
  • Genre: U.S. History


*Includes a Table of Contents
*Includes Benjamin Franklin’s Autobiography and a chronology of his life
*Includes John Woolman’s Journal
*Includes William Penn’s Fruits of Solitude
*Illustrated with images of Franklin, Woolman, and Penn
The Harvard Classics series is an incredible collection of the most important literary works, compiled by Charles Eliot (1834 – 1926), then president of Harvard University.  Eliot stated that a liberal arts education could be supplemented by reading 15 minutes a day from classic works stored on a five foot shelf.  For this reason, the series is also known as the Five Foot Shelf. 
The first volume contains works by Benjamin Franklin, John Woolman, and William Penn.  A table of contents is included for easier navigation.