Mortal Coils - Aldous Huxley

Mortal Coils

By Aldous Huxley

  • Release Date: 2015-05-13
  • Genre: Classics


Download Mortal Coils, a brilliant collection of short stories by the great Aldous Huxley.

Mortal Coils features five of Huxley’s early short stories, including one of his most widely-reprinted stories, The Gioconda Smile. Representative of his early period, these stories perfectly capture the sense of purposelessness and apathy that permeated British society following World War I.

Sharing a common theme, its main characters face problems in their love lives, often ending in disappointment:

The Gioconda Smile, one of Huxley’s most widely-circulated stories, is both a social satire and murder mystery, and was eventually adapted into the 1947 film “A Woman's Vengeance.”

Permutations Among the Nightingales is a short play focused on the romantic problems within the Hotel Cimarosa.

An old artist, long thought to be dead, is “rediscovered” and thrown an unsuccessful dinner party by a group of self-absorbed noblemen in The Tillotson Banquet.

Green Tunnels focuses on a young girl vacationing with her family. Through her boredom she develops a romantic fantasy, ultimately leading to her great disenchantment.

Most well-known for its theme of mocking the writing process and rounding out the collection is, Nuns at Luncheon, the story of a nun falling in love. 

Best known for his novel Brave New World, these short stories are the perfect addition for readers looking to expand their collection of Huxley’s works, and are sure to delight audiences and remain with them long after.

Download Mortal Coils today and discover the early works of one of the world’s most famous novelists!